Realistic-ish Violence for Odd-Likes

This is my own elaboration on this post from Underground Adventures about ttrpg combat systems that emphasize the real-world messy, dangerous, non-strategic realities of violence.

If you’ve read much of my blog, you’ll know that I have complicated thoughts about the relationship between fictional violence and real-world ethics. (This one and this one discuss my concept of “mimetic distance”).

This is intended for use with “Odd-like” systems like Cairn, OnO, etc where there are no rolls to hit, only damage rolls – armor values.


Step 1: Convert the Dice

Odd-like Weapon DieConverted Die
d4d6
d6d6+d6[+ means keep the highest]
d8d6+d6+d6
d10d6+d6+d6+d6

Step 2: Initiative

Do this however you prefer. I usually have my players roll DEX or WIL to act before their opponent(s). From there, I use side initiative.

Depending on context, it could make sense to have more detailed initiative or to have both sides roll damage at the same time with both sides getting hurt simultaneously.

Step 3: Roll Damage, Subtract Armor

  • If any die rolls a 6, repeat the roll (the whole thing with +’s) and add the previous 6. Keep repeating until there are no 6s.
  • Subtract the Opponent’s Armor (usually between 1 and 3)

Step 4: Consult the Casualty Table

d6Casualty
1Minor Bleeding
2Moderate Bleeding
3Serious Wound
4Severe Maiming
5Unconscious
6+Dead

This table is a very rough combo of Underground Adventures’ table and this random Injury Scoring method which may or may not even be a good one. I’m not totally happy with it because I couldn’t decide if knocking someone unconscious should be lower or higher on the list. Ultimately it needs work and probably at least one playtest, but I wanted to post the idea in-progress.

Leave a comment